Sat Keys

Asia Cup T20 2016 Schedule

Update: UAE has qualified for the T20 Asia Cup 2016 and they will join Bangladesh, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka for the 11 day competition. schedule and fixtures has been announced and below is the list of entire tournament matches where 5 teams will participate. Every team will play 1 match against every other team. Thats 4 games for every team and the top 2 will contest the final on 05 march 2016.

Asia Cup Teams: 1. Bangladesh, 2. India, 3. Pakistan, 4. Sri Lanka, 5. UAE

All matches will be played at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur. Every game will be starting at 19:00 IST – 18:30 Pakistan time – 13:30 uk time.

Twenty20 Asia Cup 2016 Schedule – Announced
1 India vs Bangladesh  24 February 19:00 IST / 13:30 uk
2 Sri Lanka vs UAE 25 February 19:00 IST / 13:30 uk
3 Bangladesh vs UAE 26 February 19:00 IST / 13:30 uk
4 India vs Pakistan  27 February 19:00 IST / 13:30 uk
5 Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka  28 February 19:00 IST / 13:30 uk
6 Pakistan vs UAE 29 February 19:00 IST / 13:30 uk
7 India vs Sri Lanka 01 March 19:00 IST / 13:30 uk
8 Pakistan vs Bangaldesh 02 March 19:00 IST / 13:30 uk
9 India vs UAE 03 March 19:00 IST / 13:30 uk
10 Pakistan vs Sri Lanka  04 March 19:00 IST / 13:30 uk
11 Asia Cup Final 05 March 19:00 IST / 13:30 uk

Click on the table image below to make it bigger

T20 Asia Cup 2016: Bangladesh will host the 2016 Asia Cup and 11 matches will be played starting from 24th February 2016. 1 team will qualify to play alongside four usual Asian teams Pakistan, India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. The first match will be between India and Bangladesh on 24th while the marquee game between India vs Pakistan is set to take place on 27th February 2016 in Dhaka.

Asia Cup has been played since 1986 on frequent basis with Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh competing in the competition over the years. Cricket Asia Cup has always been a one day tournament but with Asian Cricket Council (ACC) now terminating their operations and getting absorbed by ICC it has been announced that 2016 Asia Cup will be a Twenty20 tournament played between 4 full test nations plus 2 associate teams from Asia. In the meeting which was concluded last week here are some of the new suggestion made for Asia Cups future.

Asia Cup T20 2016 – Teams Confirmed

In 2016 Asia Cup There will be 4 confirmed full test teams (Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh) plus one associate team from the four asian teams who already have T20 status (Afghanistan, UAE, Nepal and Hong Kong). So teams will compete in next years Asia Cup which will provide good experience for Asian teams to get themselves ready for T20 world cup to follow immediately.

  • Asia Cup will be played regularly every two years from now on.
  • In the Twenty20 World Cup year, Asia Cup will feature T20 competition and 2016 Asia Cup will be the first T20 event.
  • Asia Cup 2016 will take place February or March before the T20 world cup in India.
  • More associate teams will be included in the T20 competition.
  • While in the year of 50 Over World Cup, Asia cup will be a one day tournament played before the world cup for example Asia Cup 2018 will be 50 over competition to be played before the 2019 world cup in India.
  • While 2020 Asia Cup will again return to T20 format.

Asia Cup T20 2016 – Schedule & Dates:

Bangladesh will host 2016 Twenty20 Asia Cup from 24th February 2016 to 06 march 2016 but the venues and the match will be announced in couple of months time.

Sri Lanka and India has won the Asia Cup 5 teams each while Pakistan were victorious on 2 occasions. Total 12 tournaments has taken place since 1986.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Check Also
Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker